Name: Lucius Iwejuru Ugorji

Date of Birth: 13 January 1952

Place of Birth: Umuakali Naze, Owerri North LGA, Imo State


Primary School Education

St. Thomas Primary School, Kano, 1957-1961

St. Michael Primary School, Umuahia, 1962-1963

Secondary School Education

Immaculate Conception Seminary, Umuahia, (1964-1970).

Tertiary Education

Bachelor in Philosophy: Bigard Memorial Seminary, Enugu, 1970-1973

Bachelor in Theology: Bigard Memorial Seminary, Enugu, 1973-1977

Diploma In the German Language: University of Munster, Germany, 1979-1980

Doctorate in Theology: University of Munster, Germany, 1980-1984


Date: 16 April 1977

Place: St Finbarr’s Catholic Church, Umuahia


  • Bishop’s Secretary 1977-1979.
  • Administrator, Umuopara Catholic Community, 1977-1979.
  • Secretary, Liturgical Commission, Catholic Diocese of Umuahia, 1977-1979.
  • Site supervisor, Mater Dei Cathedral Umuahia, 1978-1979
  • Chaplain, Klarastift Atenheim Munster, Germany, 1979-1985
  • Curate, Our lady of Lourdes Parish, Aba, January-June, 1986
  • Assistant pastor, Our lady of Lourdes parish, Aba, January-June, 1986
  • Lecturer in moral Theology, Fundamental Theology, Ecclesiology and German at the Bigard Memorial Seminary, Enugu, 1986-1990
  • Lecturer In Moral Theology at the Spiritan International School of Theology (SIST), Attakwu, 1987-1990
  • Chancellor, Umuahia Diocese, 1987-1990
  • Editor, Bigard Theological Studies, 1987-1990
  • Moderator, Torch magazine, 1987-1990
  • Founder, Kolping Society of Nigeria, 1989


Date: 1 July 1990

Place: Mater Dei Cathedral Umuahia



  • Bishop of Umuahia, 2 April 1990 to 6 march 2022
  • Chairman, Christian Association of Nigeria, Abia State chapter; 1992-2004
  • Chairman, Theological commission, Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Nigeria (CBCN), 1994-2000
  • Chairman, Church and Society, Owerri Ecclesiastical Province, (OWEP) 1994-2021
  • Chairman, Inter-religious/Ecumenical Dialogue, OWEP, 1994-2006
  • Assistant Secretary, Catholic Bishops’ conference of Nigeria, 2000-2003
  • Secretary, Catholic Bishops’ conference of Nigeria, 2003-2009
  • Chairman, Visitation panel to Abia state University, September-November, 1999
  • Member, International Anglican-Roman Catholic Commission, for unity and mission (IARCCUM) 2001-2014
  • Member, Nigeria Anglican-Roman Catholic Commission, 2001-2018
  • Delegate, Synod of Bishops on the Eucharist, 2005
  • Delegate, Second Special Assembly on Africa of the Synod of Bishops, 2009
  • Chairman, CBCN Education Committee, 2009-2012
  • Member, Governing Council of Catholic Institute of West Africa (CIWA), Port Harcourt, 2009-2012
  • Member, Governing Council of Veritas University of Nigeria Abuja (VUNA), 2009-2012
  • Chairman, Onitsha- Owerri Inter-provincial Commission for Igbo in the liturgy, 2010-2013
  • Co-chairman, Onitsha-Owerri Inter-provincial commission for the review of Baibul Nso, 2010-2022
  • Chairman, department of church and society of the Catholic Bishops’ conference of Nigeria, March 2012-2018
  • Chairman, Justice, Development and peace committee of the Catholic Bishops’ conference of Nigeria, March 2012-2018
  • Chairman, Catholic Caritas Foundation of Nigeria March 2012-2018
  • Chairman, Justice, Peace and Development Commission of The Regional Bishop’s conference Of West Africa (RECOWA) 2016-2019
  • Vice Chairman, justice, peace and Development Commission of the regional Bishops conference of west Africa (RECOWA) 2012-2016
  • Apostolic Administrator, Diocese of Ahiara, 19th February 2018 till date
  • Vice president, catholic Bishops’ conference of Nigeria, 2018-2022
  • Visitor, Madonna College of Health Technology, Umuahia, 2020 to date
  • Metropolitan Archbishop of Owerri, 6th March 2022 till date
  • President, Catholic Bishops’ conference Of Nigeria, 9th March 2022 till date